Our First Cache Ever!

What is Geocaching?

First Cache Ever!

This one-minute video tells you all about this world-wide treasure hunt that’s probably right in your own back yard.

Geocache Name:  SQ – Harger Hill

Location:  Novi, MI

We liked the fact that the geocache was in a very old cemetery nearby.  We figured that we’d have a good chance to find the container in a fenced in area.  When we arrived, I was busy fiddling with my GPS  typing  in the exact coordinates while Byron darted off up the hill.  After a few minutes of not getting a signal, I heard a yell from the cemetery. “I found it!” – I was so mad at myself for trying to do everything in order, I had missed the find.  Grrr!

Byron  could already tell by my jealous pouting that this was going to be more of a competitive activity for us.  I was already keeping score in my mind.  Byron-1 Jennifer-0.   Drats!Byron ran down the hill with the waterproof, blue envelope in hand. Waving it at me like a trophy that I did not win.  Even though I was being a brat about the find, I decided to document the find anyway- for historical purposes.

BYRON’S FIRST GEOCACHE FIND.  CAN YOU SPOT IT’S HIDING PLACE? –LOOK UNDER THE TOMBSTONE TO THE RIGHT.  IT’S A LITTLE BLUE ENVELOPE PEEKING OUT FROM THE BOTTOM.

INSIDE THE WATERPROOF POUCH WAS A NOTEBOOK TO SIGN AND AN INKSTAMP.
WE ADDED OUR GEOCACHE NAME (TEAM AISSA), DATE AND NOTED IT WAS OUR FIRST FIND! 

Since Byron found it, he got to open it first.  It’s such a rush knowing that someone left it to be found.  We noticed that a few people that very week had signed the log book.

NOTICE THAT THE LOG IS A SIMPLE NOTE PAD.  SOME CACHES HAVE KEYCHAINS OR TOY SOLDIERS.  IN THOSE CACHES THE RULE IS- TAKE SOMETHING, LEAVE SOMETHING.  AND NOTE YOUR FIND. YOU MUST PUT THE CACHE BACK EXACTLY WHERE YOU FOUND IT.

What are Muggles?

Muggles are people lurking around not associated with Geocaching.  You have to watch out for muggles when you play and be sure there are none around watching you re-hide the cache or they may take it and ruin the cache.

This is the ink stamp found in the cache.  We stamped the pad and decided after this cache to have our own ‘Team Aissa’ ink stamp made so we can leave our own mark.

It’s a rush to find a geocache.   There are more than 5 million geocachers worldwide and over 1.6 million caches hidden.  I feel like the Goonies when I embark on a hunt, careful not to let the muggles catch us looking for the prize. That can be tricky, especially if you’re walking around a CVS parking lot pretending to walk the dog…but she’s a good excuse to look under bushes- and it’s oh so fun playing Sherlock Holmes. Watch my very own first cache here!
Register for a geocache name at geocache.com !  We can share our caches and if you’re ever in Myrtle Beach, maybe even go on a hunt together!
13 thoughts on “Our First Cache Ever!

  1. Mike Lyles says:

    Never done this myself but have so many friends that have.

  2. […] Another Geocache down for Team Aissa! If you are unfamiliar with the term Geocache, read my post- Geocaching 101. […]

  3. […] husband and I are newbie Geocachers.  If you are unfamiliar with the term Geocache, read my post- Geocaching 101. Entrance to the tunnel on Ocean […]

  4. […] First Cache Ever! (dreamlifemoments.wordpress.com) […]

  5. This sounds fun! 🙂

    • It is so fun to be outdoors playing sleuth detecitve- when you find the cache. Be sure to map out a few caches in one vicinity just in case you cannot find one. I would bet there are lots where you live- happy caching- let me know when you find your first one.

    • It’s the coolest! If you go to geocaching.com you will be able to see caches hidden right in your back yard- maybe literally. Your blog title Sea Stories From East Asia sounds intriguing. I’m looking forward to reading it.

  6. Joel says:

    Very cool…

  7. GREAT BLOG! I may just gave to try this out.

Love to hear what you think!

