Writings In The Sand

Why is writing in the sand so darn fun?  I’ll tell you why.  The beach is miles and miles of blank canvas yearning to be written on.  Who can resist poking their finger in the sand and sketching out something that inspires them? Not me!

Even if  it’s only there for a fleeting moment- Even if nobody else sees it- It makes us feel good to leave our mark on the world.

My grandson Braylon making his mark.

I live at the beach, so any given day I can go out and read the thoughts of strangers.  Some of them are to the point- “Ray loves Kelly” and some are confusing- “b2” (?)

Yesterday, while walking on the beach scouting for interesting writings/drawings, I spotted Hailie scribbling in the sand while Mom and Dad proudly watched nearby.

Notice she is writing her words upside down.

Hallie

“DON’T MAKE ME SMACK YOU WITH MY FLIP FLOPS!”

Great sense of humor Hailie!

HAILIE’S ALPHABET

Hailie sketched out individual letters in the sand. Dad photographs each them and Mom will frame and hang them on the wall, spelling out the names of their family- one framed letter at a time.  Great idea Mom!

Walking a little further, I stopped to watch Meme drawing  a fish-tail in the sand.  I watched the fish-tail become a beautiful mermaid. And she was drawing the entire thing upside down.  How does she do that?!  Meme is considering attending an Art Institute near her home after graduation.  I should say so Meme.

MERMAID MONA LISA

MEME’S BEAUTIFUL MERMAID

MEME WAS HERE

MORE WRITINGS IN THE SAND

JESUS

SPRING BREAK 2012

DANCE DANCE - That sound like great advice!

DANCE DANCE – That sound like great advice!

NANNA ♥ AUSTIN

SOMEONE LOVES H

S.O.S

MY HEART BELONGS TO THE SEA

SHANNON ♥s

I WONDER WHAT THE QUESTION WAS

LIFE DON’T LISTEN TO ME MUCH ANYMORE

My contribution – PEACE

What have you written in the sand?

6 thoughts on “Writings In The Sand

  1. Brian Dill says:

    This looks like it was a ton of fun… Great pics too!!

  2. Simon says:

    Haha great pictures btw.

    • It’s ironic that you are neck-deep in the sand – You certainly take ‘putting your mark on the world’ seriously.

      • Amelia "Meme" Pittman says:

        Hey it’s me, Meme! I’ve been checking out your website and I adore the posts about geocaches. It’s so cool to see my work on a website other than facebook. I’m so sending the link to my friends

        (Is this what you meant? ^_^)

Love to hear what you think!

