How To Whiten Your Teeth With Compliments

You know that moment where you see something or hear something and suddenly it puts your life back in perspective? Well, this morning I had such a moment.

My awesome son-in-law Ty gave me an unexpected compliment. “You’ve helped us out so much, we wouldn’t be where we are today if it weren’t for you & Byron (my husband)” To which I immediately replied, “I don’t think that’s true.”  I knew immediately those words felt bad. I should have acknowledged his gratitude right away.  What was I thinking dismissing his sincere compliment?!  I basically told him the gratitude he felt was unfounded. I’m pretty sure I’m going to Hell for that.

 This is totally unlike me. I always-always embrace every nice word someone says to me and use it to create a better version of myself. I’ve been in a funk lately, which is no excuse to dismiss someone’s feelings and I felt awful.

For example…

I must have heard that I have a beautiful smile at least once a week for a year and yet, when I looked in the mirror, I saw how my teeth were crooked and overlapped a bit. I could only focused on the flaws…so off to the dentist I went to get my teeth whitened. After taking a look at my teeth, the hygienist said that they did not need whitening and to save my money and that I had a beautiful smile.  I was shocked at the compliment! Surely she saw what I saw in the mirror- but I realized that she wasn’t looking at one or two teeth but my entire smile.

I looked again at my smile- they suddenly looked brighter and straighter. Why did I feel better leaving there with nothing being done?

Own It!  I take good care of my teeth, flossing, check-ups so everytime someone noticed the result, it made me feel like they noticed all my extra effort. 

Visualize It! Whenever someone said my smile was beautiful, I pictured my teeth getting stronger, whiter and straighter. It gave my smile power! I visualized the compliment rushing to my smile …..making it stronger, prettier overall.

 Accept it!  Take the very special gift of a compliment and open it- acknowledge the giver, keep it and remember it and know without a doubt that you’ve created it.

Acknowledging someone’s positive feedback about you makes them feel good.  So appreciate their sincerity.  Thank you for noticing the effort I put forth on my hair, writing, volunteering, or being there for kids if they need a little help. 

Those small moments of your days spent on a seemingly minute detail makes all the difference in creating your life and people will notice!  And by simply accepting a compliment, you give validation to what the person thinks, feels and says matters to you a great deal; making them feel good.  And feeling good is the whole point of connecting!

Believe my words- By gracefully accepting someone’s compliment, you are giving as much as you are getting.

5 thoughts on “How To Whiten Your Teeth With Compliments

  1. "Occam Blade" says:

    Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. Yours has a terrific energy about it, especially in your bio. Here’s to your continued success, professional, personal and blog-wise!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Good stuff, and honest read,,,,,

  3. Mike Lyles says:

    First of all, welcome back to blogging — have missed your articles. Great advice, and great inputs. Another piece of advice i heard a long time ago, which is in line with this, is never let someone down when they want to do something for you. In other words, if someone wants to buy you lunch, or give you a gift – don’t deny it and say “no no no!” Of course if you know they are putting themselves in a bad position financially or personally, then you may want to suggest they not do it, but as a general rule, you accept their kindness. You rob someone of a blessing if you don’t accept their ‘gift’ whatever that gift may be.

    Keep smiling Jen!

Love to hear what you think!

